Author Topic: MidMorph (Animorphs/Doctor Who fanfic)  (Read 4780 times)

Offline poparena

MidMorph (Animorphs/Doctor Who fanfic)
« on: December 08, 2011, 06:45:23 PM »
Now, I'm a fiction writer on the side, but fan fiction is not my thing, really. However, I've hit a bit of a writer's block in that department and decided to flex my skills with a proper, epic Animorphs/Doctor Who crossover. Hey, they're my two favorite things ever, so if this doesn't get the creative juices, nothing will. The Doctor Who portion will mostly be New Who, but there will a few Classic Who plot threads as well. This will be updated way-way-way sporadically.

---

MidMorph
or
The Fork in the Road of Fate

Chapter One: Goodbye

Even before the bipeds, the quadruped and the feathered one arrived, Tranquil could feel the fragility of the canyon walls, of the earth under his legs, of the sky that provided rain for their crops. Even in their settled society, when the days were full of fruitful labor and the nights filled with happy songs, the rest of the colony believed Tranquil to be a higher level of bliss than anyone else. He would often spend his free time resting among the rocks, giving off a low-frequency hum that usually associated with meditation. Tranquil himself never thought of himself as blissful, merely observant, and his meditations were anything but blissful.

When Tranquil slipped into meditation, he could feel what the Mercora called the strings of existence. The strings were supposed to be strong and unwavering, but Tranquil was sure he could feel the faintest of vibrations in those strings, a microscope wobble in the metaphorical bonds that held all of creation together, hail Divine. When he knew no one was observing him, he tried to match the pitch of his hum to the vibration of the strings. For Tranquil, all of this meant one thing: the strings were weakening, and were bound to snap in due time. When that happened, all of creation would collapse in a heap.