Author Topic: Human machinery in Yeerk pool  (Read 1057 times)

Offline niknik

Human machinery in Yeerk pool
« on: October 22, 2009, 11:06:38 PM »
I've read references in a few books that the underground Yeerk pool has Caterpillar earthmovers and cranes etc, however I'm sure I've also read that Taxxons are efficient earthmovers, diggers etc all in their own right (I think they were constructing some sort of quarry or something)... so

A) why bother with the human machinery? and
B) how would they even get all that machinery underground in the first place?

(P.S. I'm a total newbie so I'm sorry if this has been brought up before...)

Offline Chad32

• God
Re: Human machinery in Yeerk pool
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2009, 08:10:17 AM »
a Human can use a shovel to dig a hole, but a crane will do it faster. That's like asking why people drive cars or ride bikes when they have a perfectly good set of legs.

Now why they use Human machinery, instead of more advanced machinery? I guess because the Yeerks have a habit of taking technology from other species and using that, instead of making their own.

It shouldn't be hard to imagine how they got the machines down there.

Ani-Master 2014!

Offline JFalcon

• I need to get out more . . .
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2009, 08:25:33 AM »
In addition, Taxxons could probably have made some nice tunnels but might not have been able to clear the size of cavern they needed for the pool without killing themselves, because of how hard they are to control at the best of times the Yeerks may have chosen not to risk their Taxxon-controlers eating themselves to death.

Possibly anyway, doesnt seem like Visser Three minds killing them just for being annoying, but Visser One, under whose watch the pool was likely constructed was a little more conservative.  :P
"I would be a ghost of this dynasty before I'd be a general of rebels and traitors!" ~ Pang De, Romance of the Three Kingdoms