Author Topic: Can't load RAF  (Read 3228 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Aluminator (Kit)

  • Most Ladylike-Robot-superhero-weak ankled Chippendale-loose cannon teleporter-1/64 ninja-not British comedian-also not Steph-Kit in spirit-Sharing member for life-cuddlestorm-bricklayer-necromancer-Hot Dog Day enthusiast!
  • Social Staff
  • ****
  • Posts: 6852
  • Insanity Meter:
    2.6%
  • Country: 00
  • Karma: 412
  • Gender: Male
Can't load RAF
« on: June 27, 2013, 03:06:27 PM »
So hey! Ever since I've been able to log on to RAF during the day again (ie the last month or so), I've noticed that there seems to be a period each day during which I'm unable to load the forum (or chat, apparently, as I found out today). It seems to last an hour or two- When I first saw it today it was just about 1pm CST, and it's now 1:55pm, and I've just managed to load the forum again (seems to be working fine now).

Most of the time, I receive a network TCP "connection refused" error. Sometimes, RAF seems to load, but it's exceptionally slow. On occasion, RAF will load but I'll get the 500 internal server error.

I don't have issues with any other website, and it really does seem to happen fairly consistently in the early afternoon (I want to say it's every day, but I'm not sure of that- it's often enough to give me pause, at least).

I'm wondering if anyone else has seen this happening. There's a chance it's a local issue I'm having (something I'm not aware of having to do with the company servers, maybe?), but it feels more like it's a issue with RAF or our host server.

Marie and Abby are my wonderful RAFsisters ^_^
Salem's Story

Offline .: Asmo

  • Elder One
  • Xtreme Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 2644
  • Insanity Meter:
    1.2%
  • Country: aq
  • Karma: 133
  • Gender: Male
  • Woo woo woo
    • Invasion Continues
Re: Can't load RAF
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2013, 03:26:18 PM »
I'm getting the 505 errors about once to twice a day also.
.: Asmodeus
GodMode.{ED7BA470-8E54-465E-825C-99712043E01C}
Sole Zombie Apocalypse Survivor 2012/2014/2015
James Bond Villain 2013/2014/2015
Most Likely Harbinger of Armageddon 2014
Best RAFian Superhero/Sidekick (or Supervillain/Minion) Duo 2014


Offline theyoungphoenix

  • still abby
  • Xtreme Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 2542
  • Insanity Meter:
    0%
  • Country: us
  • Karma: 33
  • Gender: Female
  • "I'm honestly a huge dork."
    • My Book
Re: Can't load RAF
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2013, 03:44:44 PM »
Ya, sometimes when I'm on my iPod it won't load and it give me a message saying "can not connect to server". It's happened a few times to me too.
My Tumblr
Saffa is my shorm and RAFtwin. :D Lumy is my awesomeful RAFbrother. ;D
:raftrophy:
Best Newcomer 2013
Best RAFian Supervillan/Minion Duo 2013 (Saffa/Abby :D Morph Twins)
RAFian Artist of the Year 2016

Offline Stephquiem

  • #1 Poster 8)
  • Gold Donor
  • *********
  • Posts: 32872
  • Insanity Meter:
    0%
  • Country: us
  • Karma: 615
  • Gender: Female
  • ^ Hugh. Not House, dagnabit.
    • Facebook
Re: Can't load RAF
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2013, 03:52:10 PM »
Sooo... Scott, when you asked me about this awhile ago, I told you I didn't have a problem. <.< I lied. (Not intentionally. :P)

But yeah. Having the same problem. Got the 500 error earlier. Got just plain old "could not load the page" once or twice. >.<

Offline Richard

  • Founder
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10265
  • Insanity Meter:
    0%
  • Country: jm
  • Karma: 397
  • Gender: Male
    • Richard's Animorphs Forum
Re: Can't load RAF
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2013, 04:51:50 PM »
These past few days the server is undergoing maintainance. The issue should be resolved on a few days. Sorry about this guys.

Offline Aluminator (Kit)

  • Most Ladylike-Robot-superhero-weak ankled Chippendale-loose cannon teleporter-1/64 ninja-not British comedian-also not Steph-Kit in spirit-Sharing member for life-cuddlestorm-bricklayer-necromancer-Hot Dog Day enthusiast!
  • Social Staff
  • ****
  • Posts: 6852
  • Insanity Meter:
    2.6%
  • Country: 00
  • Karma: 412
  • Gender: Male
Re: Can't load RAF
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2013, 09:09:49 AM »
No worries ^_^ Good to know it's apparently a temporary thing, at least :P

Marie and Abby are my wonderful RAFsisters ^_^
Salem's Story

Offline Cloak

  • Disciple of Weird Al
  • God
  • ********
  • Posts: 10723
  • Insanity Meter:
    16.8%
  • Country: us
  • Karma: 347
  • Gender: Male
  • 153 of 1,236 "Memoirs" books (~12.38%) completed
Re: Can't load RAF
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2013, 09:02:56 PM »
[...] the server is undergoing maintainance. [...]

I suspected this, to be honest -- whenever it happens for me, I go about other, nonRAF business (or just write out more chapter synopsises).


Book 154: "The Contingency"
Chapter 8: "Collecting Willpower and a Cuddly Souvenir"
(July 22, 2017)

RAFians Referenced Specifically: GH and Horse.

Offline Saffa

  • Fluent in Google Translate
  • God
  • ********
  • Posts: 12599
  • Insanity Meter:
    0%
  • Country: in
  • Karma: 263
  • Gender: Female
  • The power of procrastination compels you!
    • Twitter
Re: Can't load RAF
« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2013, 02:31:50 PM »
Uh, server issues much? I've been unable to load the site a couple of times around now - that's 12:01 AM Indian Standard Time, neither from my phone nor my laptop. When it did load it was pretty slow.

Spoiler: RAF Awards (click to show/hide)
:raftrophy:

Offline Richard

  • Founder
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10265
  • Insanity Meter:
    0%
  • Country: jm
  • Karma: 397
  • Gender: Male
    • Richard's Animorphs Forum
Re: Can't load RAF
« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2013, 03:09:43 PM »
Yep, there were some issues today.

Offline Sorunome

  • Muffins
  • Xtreme Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 3906
  • Insanity Meter:
    0%
  • Country: 00
  • Karma: 36
  • Gender: Female
  • Imma pony
    • My Website (You might loose THE GAME)
Re: Can't load RAF
« Reply #9 on: July 25, 2013, 06:34:46 PM »
All issues i had was the server being a bit slow at some points, but come on, it is a server that is NOT google ^^

Offline theyoungphoenix

  • still abby
  • Xtreme Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 2542
  • Insanity Meter:
    0%
  • Country: us
  • Karma: 33
  • Gender: Female
  • "I'm honestly a huge dork."
    • My Book
Re: Can't load RAF
« Reply #10 on: August 02, 2013, 04:05:38 PM »
Okay, I had issues logging on today from about ten this morning to about one fifty. I don't know if it was just me or not, because I don't know if it was just the wifi I'm connected to. If someone could let me kno of they dealt with the same thing, that would be great.
My Tumblr
Saffa is my shorm and RAFtwin. :D Lumy is my awesomeful RAFbrother. ;D
:raftrophy:
Best Newcomer 2013
Best RAFian Supervillan/Minion Duo 2013 (Saffa/Abby :D Morph Twins)
RAFian Artist of the Year 2016

Offline Saffa

  • Fluent in Google Translate
  • God
  • ********
  • Posts: 12599
  • Insanity Meter:
    0%
  • Country: in
  • Karma: 263
  • Gender: Female
  • The power of procrastination compels you!
    • Twitter
Re: Can't load RAF
« Reply #11 on: August 02, 2013, 04:09:48 PM »
It was on Twitter - their host server had issues, so the whole of RAF was down.

Spoiler: RAF Awards (click to show/hide)
:raftrophy:

Offline theyoungphoenix

  • still abby
  • Xtreme Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 2542
  • Insanity Meter:
    0%
  • Country: us
  • Karma: 33
  • Gender: Female
  • "I'm honestly a huge dork."
    • My Book
Re: Can't load RAF
« Reply #12 on: August 02, 2013, 04:11:33 PM »
Oh, okay!
My Tumblr
Saffa is my shorm and RAFtwin. :D Lumy is my awesomeful RAFbrother. ;D
:raftrophy:
Best Newcomer 2013
Best RAFian Supervillan/Minion Duo 2013 (Saffa/Abby :D Morph Twins)
RAFian Artist of the Year 2016

Offline Aluminator (Kit)

  • Most Ladylike-Robot-superhero-weak ankled Chippendale-loose cannon teleporter-1/64 ninja-not British comedian-also not Steph-Kit in spirit-Sharing member for life-cuddlestorm-bricklayer-necromancer-Hot Dog Day enthusiast!
  • Social Staff
  • ****
  • Posts: 6852
  • Insanity Meter:
    2.6%
  • Country: 00
  • Karma: 412
  • Gender: Male
Re: Can't load RAF
« Reply #13 on: August 02, 2013, 04:11:56 PM »
Yeah, not just you, Abby. The whole forum was down for about five hours. Hopefully they've got whatever happened figured out. I can't survive for that long without my RAF >.<

Marie and Abby are my wonderful RAFsisters ^_^
Salem's Story

Offline Saffa

  • Fluent in Google Translate
  • God
  • ********
  • Posts: 12599
  • Insanity Meter:
    0%
  • Country: in
  • Karma: 263
  • Gender: Female
  • The power of procrastination compels you!
    • Twitter
Re: Can't load RAF
« Reply #14 on: August 02, 2013, 04:13:03 PM »
True that. I was feeling quite lost without it. Normal people are so boring.

Spoiler: RAF Awards (click to show/hide)
:raftrophy: