Author Topic: A dog  (Read 6583 times)

Offline CounterInstinct

A dog
« on: July 18, 2008, 08:19:57 AM »
I vaguely remember a book (I think it was written by Stephen King...) where he killed a dog. A simple dog. Not part of the plot whatsoever. Yet, when he "killed" the dog, he got a lot of hate mail.

I kinda remember Rachel-death then the hate mail.... what is it with dying characters anyway?
I'm just a writer, and my main goal was always to entertain. But I've never let Animorphs turn into just another painless video game version of war, and I wasn't going to do it at the end. I've spent 60 books telling a strange, fanciful war story, sometimes very seriously, sometimes more tongue-in-cheek. I've written a lot of action and a lot of humor and a lot of sheer nonsense. But I have also, again and again, challenged readers to think about what they were reading. To th

Offline morfowt

• God
  • this is my avatar. it's a picture of nothing...
Re: A dog
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2008, 08:44:09 AM »
hmm...let me think for a minute...maybe 5 minutes...maybe 10 years (hehe)...nope I don't really know, but I guess I'd do it too, except I didn't realize you could send mail to the authors before, and by the time I did know, I had grown...I guess neutral to characters dying...it's hard to explain...

Offline Phoenix004

• RAF Ancient
  • Sr. Staff
  • With great RAFpower comes great RAFsponsibility...
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2008, 09:15:46 AM »
When you get really into a story, you connect with the characters and therefore pity them when they get killed off. That's how I can tell when I'm really into a series.
Animorphs Travels #1 The Invasion
http://animorphsforum.com/index.php?topic=10876.msg860745#msg860745

RAFcon 2015: It's always Hot Dog Day somewhere!

Offline Chad32

• God
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2008, 09:40:23 AM »